Ooooh, shiny!

October 21, 2005

This afternoon I’ve been playing around with the developer preview of Flock, a Firefox-based “social browser”, which aims to provide users with tight integration with popular online services (blogger, bookmark sharing, photo sharing, etc.). So far, it looks pretty good for an alpha. There are busted features (bookmark import springs to mind) and rough edges (bookmarks menu), but overall, I like the concept and I think the Flock developers have done excellent work. It’s got some nice features, like a built-in blog editor (from which I am typing this), a ‘Shelf’ which you can drag things to, integration with Flickr that I haven’t figured out how to use yet, and so on. Here’s an example of the Shelf: let’s say I’m reading boz4PM’s livejournal (btw, one shortcoming of the blog editor is that it can’t do that nifty icon thingy), and something that she says interests me. I highlight it and drag it to the Shelf. I click the Blog This button, and drag that item into the blog editor. I get this:

Comment using an icon of yours that you LOVE, and tell me why you picked THAT one too.

Boz4PM

Nifty, isn’t it? Unfortunately, the blog editor lacks the ability to post to multiple blogs (not to mention that a lot of it looks awfully like Nvu, a Gecko-based HTML editor), but it’s a nice idea and it’s fairly well executed. The Favourites Manager looks useful, if a little hard to decipher (hint: making people click on things to find out what they don’t isn’t usually a good idea, but quite acceptable for a developer preview). Oh, and I’ve figured out how to use the Flickr topbar. It lets you drag photos from Flickr right into blog posts, like so:

Flickr Photo

Interesting, isn’t it? Going to explore a little more, now…

/rm

Technorati Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

